mariyesteban

Made a mistake on DS-260, interview already scheduled

27 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Peru
Timeline

Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting so forgive any ignorance or redundant questions you surely have heard before :blush: ...

I am the petitioner for my wife (beneficiary) in Peru. We have gone through everything so far and received an interview date and time at the U.S. Embassy in Lima, Peru in less than a week. After looking over all of our documents, I went back to print the DS-260 confirmation page from CEAC and I noticed a couple of errors I made on the actual DS-260 form. The errors were:

1) Wrong date for how long my wife has lived at her current address (ex. she lived there from 2007 and I had accidentally put in 2003)

2) Forgot to put my wife's employment history

To explain a bit more regarding the employment history omission, I guess I either forgot altogether or didn't feel it was necessary to put down that my wife only helped out her friend at a local school (for less than 1 month) and helped children in her neighborhood with English homework (she barely got any money from this and it was more for friends and family). I did however put those two things down in her G-325A when I mailed out the I-130.

Will this show up as a discrepancy to the consular officer? And would my wife be able to mention this at the time of the interview since it's too late to fix the DS-260? Would it be wise to fill out a DS-230 and bring it to the interview to note the changes? I don't want these two small errors be the cause for any delay in my wife obtaining a visa. She also recently updated her passport since it was going to expire in less than a month, but I didn't think it would be a problem as long as she brought both the old and new passport with her. THANKS!!!

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: India
Timeline