ZA_35

Is this a bad idea?

20 posts in this topic

Hi

I haven't even left the NVC yet but I am thinking ahead at jobs.

In South Africa I am quite qualified and have been working in the finance industry for over 5 years.

I'm a bit of realist - it took me around 6 months to find this job after graduating so I know how it can take some time to land a decent (i.e.well paying) job.

As I will (hopefully sometime this century) be entering the US with a spousal visa/greencard, I want to start working straight away.

Will future employers look down on me if I take ANY job (even minimum wage) I can find until I find something suitable?

Thanks

Greetings from South Africa

Filed: F-2A Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

No. Why would they do that? As long as you have a clean record and you qualify to their requirements, you'll do fine.

I am in the same boat and actually thought I posted a similar question today!

I have over 14 years work experience in several countries. A bachelors degree from the United States and Advanced post-graduate diploma from my own country. I JUST received my EAD and have been applying for jobs I am qualified for an interested in.

While waiting for my EAD to come through, I updated my resume and did some certification courses in areas that I have worked in the past and to supplement my professional development. I had a social security number from University days was able to apply for jobs the day my EAD card arrived. That is the good news, but there is so much anxiety about the reality.