You&Me

Desperate to find work!

31 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Portugal
Timeline

Hey everyone!

I came to the US on a K1 and in November of last year I finally got my green card, so I immediately started looking for work, but I am having such a hard time! I have ample experience in office settings, I have worked as an administrative assistant, executive assistance, and even paralegal. I have 6 years experience in the area. I think my English is quite good as well, so that should be no problem.

I have obviously tailored my Resume to the US standards, however, I have no work experience in this country, I have never worked here. I never mention on my resume or any cover letters I send that I'm an immigrant on a green card, but it should be pretty obvious by looking at the "previous employment" section of my resume. If asked for references I also have a hard time since i've had no work here.

Another problem I encounter is when trying to register with online staffing agencies. Their online applications are not tailored for anyone who is not an American citizen...for example, when asked for previous employment, it will ask me for a city, then it will have a drop down menu to select a state, and these are mandatory answers I cannot skip, otherwise I cannot continue with the application. I have encountered this problem so many times I have lost count. I tried going in person to some of these agencies and filling out a paper application but I have never heard back, and in one occasion they were extremely rude, and told me if i was having a hard time finding a job maybe I should go back home. I was very sad, extremely distraught, I could not believe it. After that I'm starting to think maybe people just don't want to hire immigrants?? I can understand it I guess...