Topsky

Same-sex Marriage questions

29 posts in this topic

Hello, fellow members.

I hope you are doing well.

I am really grateful that the DOMA has been struck down. Thanks to Ms Windsor and GLAD. I was closely following up its demise. And, finally here we are!

I have a couple of specific questions regarding marriage to my partner who is a US citizen and I am an Indian citizen living in NZ (Permanent Resident).

Here is the case:

I am an Indian citizen and I was in the USA for three years. My partner and I met in California and fell in love. We committed and stayed together for three years (October 2008 to October 2010). I was on a work visa. I could not get a job later on and eventually a green card. I applied for a temporary work permit for New Zealand and moved here in New Zealand back in 2010. Now I am a Permanent Resident of New Zealand.

We met twice in 2011 once in New Zealand and once in the USA. Later on the life became a little frustrating with the distance and the time difference. We still kept in touch and shared our thoughts.

I have a Tourist visa for the USA which is valid for 10 years and we are on the verge of decision to get married when I am visiting him and taking a trip to Canada this September. We are thinking of marrying in San Francisco.

My question: Is it advisable to get married while I'm in the US (visitor Visa) and leave the USA? Once I am here in New Zealand, my partner can apply for me GC through same-sex marriage. I see that the immigration intent here is changing as I hold a visitor visa and marrying a US Citizen. I am getting married to him in the USA but I will not stay and I will go back to my home country (New Zealand). Do you see any illegal activity here which might be jeopardize our case?