32 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello I am very new at all of this.

My wonderful fiance as of Christmas day and her amazing 5 year old daughter have come to stay with me from Australia since October 17th 2012.

But sadly on January 14th just under 2 weeks, her visa waiver is 90 days and they will be flying back to Australia :(

Is there anything I can do to have them stay in the country?

We were planning on marrying before she leaves.

Thank you for any feedback.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ireland
Timeline

Bye: Penguin

Me: Irish/ Swiss citizen, and now naturalised US citizen. Husband: USC; twin babies born Feb 08 in Ireland and a daughter in Feb 2010 in Arkansas who are all joint Irish/ USC. Did DCF (IR1) in 6 weeks via the Dublin, Ireland embassy and now living in Arkansas.

mod penguin.jpg

Thank you.

I was reading about intent to get married BEFORE she came to the US which wasn't the case.

We just decided while she was here.

So, in short, no she cant stay.

She needs to go back home in a week and we wait 5-8 months for a K-1 visa approval?

What you just wrote doesn't make sense. You can marry, she can stay with you, she can file to adjust status via the above-mentioned guide, and everything will be ok. However, once the application is filed, she won't be able to leave the US for about 3 months (until approval of Advance Parole) otherwise the adjustment of status would be considered abandoned.

Edited by hmh33

Spouse-based AOS from out-of-status H-1B, May - Aug 2012

Removal of conditions, Aug - Nov 2014

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: China
Timeline

Thank you.

I was reading about intent to get married BEFORE she came to the US which wasn't the case.

We just decided while she was here.

So, in short, no she cant stay.

She needs to go back home in a week and we wait 5-8 months for a K-1 visa approval?

you've got the logic reversed, or your writing reversed, or something else reversed.

Take another stab at it?