leanne213

Tourist Visa to travel with my military boyfriend

9 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

My boyfriend is in the US Airforce. He is stationed at Mildenhall in the UK. I live in Manchester in the UK. He is currently deployed to Afghanistan. We had agreed that when he returns next year I will move down to be with him. I planned to give up my job as a solicitor and look for work in Cambridge. He has recently found out that he has to go to Nebraska for training for four months next year. I plan to go with him and on our return move straight down to be with him. I have savings to live off in the usa and my boyfriend has confirmed I can stay with him whilst over there so I won't have to bear that expense. My concern is that I will need to give my job up so won't be able to demonstrate that I have a job to come back to. But as a solicitor I can only practice in the UK. Also I plan to live with my boyfriend when we get back so I can show that I'll be living with him but just in case anything happens in that respect I have family I can also live with when I return. Can someone help me with what visa I need and advise on increasing my chances of success. I'm apprehensive to give my job up if I am unlikely to get a visa??

The easiest thing would be to use the Visa Waiver Program, and go for the maximum of 90 days allowed. You'd have to spend one month apart, but you have a much better chance of getting the approval to use it (the ESTA system gives approval) than something else. You can apply for the ESTA registration and have an answer in a few minutes (and it costs very little).