geeklover

In adjustment of status from F1, question regarding CCP

20 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: China
Timeline

Hello everyone,

This is the first post of mine on VJ. Nice meeting you all and thanks for your time reading my post! :P

I have questions regarding filling out the form I485, as some of you have already experienced. I will

appreciate if any of you can share with me how to answer the question "if I have ever been joined or affiliated

to CCP". I have searched over the forum and found some very useful discussions but mostly from the K1,outside of the country,

including these advice from candle of love. I am really curious if any F1/H1B here had similar problem of mine.

Long story short...I am a F1 student from China. I have been in US for 5 years. Never thought I would fill for

AOS until I fell in love with someone in my school and he happens to be an American. So I changed my original

plan and decide to stay with him here. Recently we got married (L) and started filling out the AOS --

all right-- I hit the question of CCP -- I had been a CCP memeber from 2002 to the early 2007. I stopped paying

any due after I came to US and the membership should have automatically terminated since 2007 July, which is

around 5 years ago.

(1) I joined the CCP mainly because (1) Family. My Dad insists CCP is correct and great(he still thinks so and

he would rather never come to US in order to keep his membership I think). They filed the application to CCP

on behalf of me for the first time when I was only 17(though it was rejected). (2) CCP members have more access to extra curricular and

job promotion. Is it appropriate to include both in my statement?

(2) I want to be honest with USCIS about my CCP experience. However my friends are warning me it would be easier

to just hide the fact... :o

(3) Does the statement that my membership has been terminated for 5 years help to clear?