xtianj

being out of status similar to being an illegal immigrant?

22 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Philippines
Timeline

I entered in the US via K1. We just filed aos this Feb 2012. I am now starting to look for job vacancies available in our area that I might qualify to apply. One job requires certain days of legal permanent residency. My question is, am I considered an illegal immigrant until my AOS is approved? I wonder how ead comes into play in this scenario (the legal residency thing). It just authorizes me to work but doesnt mean I am a legal resident?

POE - 11/05/09

Wedding - 01/19/10

AOS Sent - 02/08/12

NOA1 - 02/15/12

Case transferred to CSC - 03/18/12

Biometrics - 03/21/12

EAD card production - 04/04/12

EAD Card Received - 04/13/12

AOS Approval - card mailed 08/29/12

GC Received - 09/01/12

Thank you, Lord!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

I entered in the US via K1. We just filed aos this Feb 2012. I am now starting to look for job vacancies available in our area that I might qualify to apply. One job requires certain days of legal permanent residency. My question is, am I considered an illegal immigrant until my AOS is approved? I wonder how ead comes into play in this scenario (the legal residency thing). It just authorizes me to work but doesnt mean I am a legal resident?

No you are not an illegal immigrant. You entered on a K-1 visa you entered the USA legally.

You are in a period of authorized stay because you have an AOS petition in process, until you get an EAD and AP you cannot work or travel outside of the USA.

EAD is not a "legal residency thing". It is an Employment Authorization Document. Which allows you to work legally while you wait for your CPR ( conditional permanent resident ) status.

-------------------------------------------- as1cE-a0g410010MjgybHN8MDA5Njk4c3xNYXJyaWVkIGZvcg.gif

Your I-129f was approved in 5 days from your NOA1 date.