CGA

DCF Lima Peru

7 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Peru
Timeline

Hello, I am an american living in Peru, I have been married to my Peruvian wife for 1.5 years and we have been living together in Peru for over a year. Our wedding was in Peru in Sept of 2010.

I do not have a job in the U.S. and I am a teacher here in Peru making a mere $500 per month.

We are preparing to file the I130 in Lima via the DCF process. I understand that we will need a sponsor for her, I have one but it is a weak one. Our plan is to move to the U.S. this summer, I have a job lined up. Can I be a sponsor for her if all I have is a letter of employment? Will the embassy accept the letter and allow me to be a sponsor?

Thank you,

Chris A.

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Peru
Timeline

You probably still need the joint sponsor to be safe. It is at the discretion of the consular officer to accept I-864 evidence or not and yours sounds like it could be on the weak side if you only use your future earning potential.

And what do you mean by "I have [a sponsor] but it is a weak one"? If you're still just talking about yourself, I think you're going to need a joint sponsor. You will still fill out the I-864 too regardless of whether you have a joint sponsor.

Another option would be to move to the US a couple months before your interview and start working and have the paystubs to show ongoing employment. Either way, you're going to need to show that you have intent to re-establish domicile (maintained domicile won't apply to you since you've been working in Peru) when you file the I-864, so moving ahead of your wife would help with that.

Timeline

You probably still need the joint sponsor to be safe. It is at the discretion of the consular officer to accept I-864 evidence or not and yours sounds like it could be on the weak side if you only use your future earning potential.