QWERTYASDF

I-129F related questions for my situation.

18 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: South Korea
Timeline

Hello all, I am new here and I have been searching for information about this. Here is my situation:

I am Korean-American, born in the U.S while my parents aren't U.S citizen, they are Korean citizen and they came to the U.S for studying purpose, and I was born here while they were studying. I have met my fiancee 4 years ago in South Korea. We have been dating long-distance relationship because I am a student in the U.S but I have met my fiance in person during winter break and summer break for the past 4 years so I would consider that 2 years met in person if that makes sense? Around December, 2011 is when I proposed to my fiancee. We are planning on getting married on July 14th, 2012 over in Korea. Of course I didn't expect that we would be married after I proposed. I was thinking it would take more than 1 year. If this was the case, then I wouldn't have to worry about the waiting time. The reason why our marriage is going to take place in Korea is because there is where all my family is, so it's easier. Plus, I am a college student (undergrad), and I plan on going to graduate school right after I graduate from undergrad. So therefore I am marrying while I am a student.

Also I am aware that with the K-1 visa, I have to marry my fiancee in the U.S within 90 days upon entering U.S. So I will have to marry her twice, marry her in Korea, and marry her in U.S. However, I think as long as we don't file a marriage certificate in Korea but file a marriage certificate in the U.S with a K-1 visa and I think the K-1 would be effective? Just as long as I have proof that marriage is taken place in the U.S as well? As I mentioned the situation above the actual wedding will take place in Korea.