t-roy

marry in the us or over seas

7 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Colombia
Timeline

here is my situation. i am new to visa journey. I am american and I am engaged to my fiance who is in Colombia. We have been together for about a year.

I just recently asked her to be my wife. She does have a tourist visa right now. So my question is should I marry her in Colombia or marry her when she comes

here to see me in the US. I just want make sure we do it the correct and most efficient way. and that it will be legal. Please help. Troy

Filed: Lift. Cond. (apr) Country: China
Timeline

If she marries you in the US, she will need to return to Columbia when her authorized stay expires. If she were to enter the US with intent to marry you and then file to adjust status, that's fraud.

Regardless if you marry in the US or in Colubmia, you will still file the I-130 for CR-1 visa.

You have another option. You can file a I-129F for a K1 (fiancee visa). Once she is issued a fiancee visa, she comes here and you must get married within 90 days of her arrival. You would then file for adjustment of status (AOS). When the AOS process is complete, she will be given the green card.

Check out the guides for both K1 and CR-1. :guides:

Our journey:

Spoiler

September 2007: Met online via social networking site (MySpace); began exchanging messages.
March 26, 2009: We become a couple!
September 10, 2009: Arrived for first meeting in-person!
June 17, 2010: Arrived for second in-person meeting and start of travel together to other areas of China!
June 21, 2010: Engaged!!!
September 1, 2010: Switched course from K1 to CR-1
December 8, 2010: Wedding date set; it will be on February 18, 2011!
February 9, 2011: Depart for China
February 11, 2011: Registered for marriage in Wuhan, officially married!!!
February 18, 2011: Wedding ceremony in Shiyan!!!
April 22, 2011: Mailed I-130 to Chicago
April 28, 2011: Received NOA1 via text/email, file routed to CSC (priority date April 25th)