sorbolo

From F-1 to H1B or AOS ?

5 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Italy
Timeline

Hi everyone,

I tried to do a little research on this topic before writing on this forum...but couldn't find a situation exactly like mine and still little bit confused. So here I am!

I am currently on F-1 visa (I am a grad student), I will graduate in May and have a job offer which i accepted and will start to work this summer (so the original plan was to file for OPT and for an H1-B). I also have a USC fiancé and we want to get married soon. So we thought that maybe we can marry this summer before I start working and then file for a AOS and let the ball roll (instead of applying for a H1-B but still applying for the OPT which I need to start to work).

Would this road be compatible with the fact that I want to start working in August?

Would I still be permitted to work in US after I file the AOS?

What would happen if something in the process of AOS goes wrong (I am denied) would my F-1 with OPT still be valid and I can apply next April to an H1-B?

Do you think is better/easier to do the H1-B and get married after that and do the AOS from there?

We plan to file the paperwork in Texas but currently I live in the Carolinas. We are planning to have a lawyer assisting us but wanted first to explore if this option is viable or not

Hi everyone,

I tried to do a little research on this topic before writing on this forum...but couldn't find a situation exactly like mine and still little bit confused. So here I am!