armorri122

Quick question about K-1 and tourists

5 posts in this topic

Hello all,

I am a graduate of the visajourney living with my husband in California. A friend of mine is about to start the process of applying for a K-1 fiance visa. However, I did not obtain a K-1 and cannot remember the answer to her question so was wondering if you could help me out: If your fiance is on a tourist visa at the time of filing, is he or she eligible to stay in the US throughout the duration of filing for the K-1? I know that if you are on a student visa or an H1-B, your current visa is extended but am unsure if this is the case for tourists.

Thanks much!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Mexico
Timeline

Hello all,

I am a graduate of the visajourney living with my husband in California. A friend of mine is about to start the process of applying for a K-1 fiance visa. However, I did not obtain a K-1 and cannot remember the answer to her question so was wondering if you could help me out: If your fiance is on a tourist visa at the time of filing, is he or she eligible to stay in the US throughout the duration of filing for the K-1? I know that if you are on a student visa or an H1-B, your current visa is extended but am unsure if this is the case for tourists.

Thanks much!

Well as i know , he can go and back with his tourist visa but the k1 visa is for those people who dont have any kind of visa and want a "permission" for get married in USA , i saw in some topic that if you get married with tourist visa can be maybe a problem for make a AOS..

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline

Hello all,

Thanks much!

You are eligible to stay as long as the time that was granted by the CBP upon entry (ie.. the date on the I-94). A tourist visa stay period is extendable, but being the beneficiary of a I-129F petition is not something that makes one "automatically" eligible.

Edited by payxibka

YMMV

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Argentina
Timeline