miggy

How can my Son stay in the usa

13 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

I came over to the usa in 2008 and got married to my husband, i am a perm resident now i do have the conditions on my residency but those are due to be removed later this year. my son is 22 now. he has been coming to and from the usa on the waiver program for the past year. we have just filed the I-130 for him as soon as he came on this 90 day stretch, i have receive a notification they have recevied the file (not a receipt number) but have heard nothing since, i want him to stay in the USA but the info i am getting is all over the place, some people say since he has filed the I-130 he can stay where as others say he has to leave the USA and that if he does leave if he was to come back after a few weeks again on the waiver, there is a strong possibility that he would be denied entry. i have family in the uk where i am from originally but they will not help me out with letting him stay with them etc mostly because of whom he would have to live with being very ill atm. is there any way he could stay here or could anyone give me some advice?

thanks in advance

Dawn

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: China
Timeline

Dawn - he doesn't have any status yet because the I-130 was filed, at all.

You are the mother, a permanent resident, filing for an unmarried son. The wait is anywhere from 4 to 8 years before a visa number becomes available, for that category, for that country.

If I were in yer shoes, I'd make sure my son was in a university whilst waiting, all the way through to phD level, outside of the USA.

Alternatively, he can apply for admission to a USA university on a student visa, preferably somewhere close to your locale.

Good Luck !

Edited by Darnell

Sometimes my language usage seems confusing - please feel free to 'read it twice', just in case !