West&East

Couple of Questions

5 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Japan
Timeline

Hey all!

Ive been a long time viewer of this forum and just want to say thanks for all the information and positivity on these boards!

It's really helpful and encouraging to have so many people pitching in to make navigation of this process easier.

I just have a few questions...

1) As I am a grad student and not currently working I will need to file a joint/co-sponsor support (I-134?) form.

My father has agreed to do this so I'm just wondering what documents he and I will need to provide as evidence? He is planning to

use tax forms and I am thinking to send a copy of my bank account. Also, for personal property, would it be acceptable to list the Blue

Book value of my car with a copy of the title in my name?

2)Jumping ahead somewhat, I have seen a number of posts concerning SSN's. Many have advised getting it as soon as possible (before marriage) but, from reading on the boards, it seems that it would be easier to wait 2 weeks after my fiance enters the country, get married, and then file for a

SSN so we would not have to go through a complicated name change process. Is there something I'm missing or would this truly be the easiest way to go about this? I have seen many posts claiming it's easier if one gets the SSN prior to marriage.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

Hey all!

Ive been a long time viewer of this forum and just want to say thanks for all the information and positivity on these boards!

It's really helpful and encouraging to have so many people pitching in to make navigation of this process easier.

I just have a few questions...

1) As I am a grad student and not currently working I will need to file a joint/co-sponsor support (I-134?) form.

My father has agreed to do this so I'm just wondering what documents he and I will need to provide as evidence? He is planning to