LDora

Can I have my Canadian taxes done somewhere in Florida?

8 posts in this topic

So apparently I'm a big idiot and when I moved in 2007, I forgot to do my taxes that year. I've never owed any money before, and I earned even less that year because I left about halfway through the year. Likewise, any returns I got were always very small. (Bakers don't make much.) The woman I spoke to from the CRA who called was very friendly and said I had to have it filed by November 12. She didn't make it sound like I was in any trouble at all.

My question is this. If I take my forms to somewhere like H+R Block here in the states, would they be able to prepare them for me? Barring that, could I have them done by a tax professional back in Canada (outfit similar to H+R Block) even though I don't live there anymore? Like, could I express them the documents and have them file it?

I'm just really lost here as I've never done my taxes myself before and I don't want a mistake to end up costing me. Help?

"Your mom is in my head right now, and she's saying don't do that."

"For Sale. One Parachute . Used only once, never been opened. Small stain."

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

There are probably tax people in Florida who can do a Canadian return (since there are so many Canadians there) and absolutely you can probably have a Canadian firm do it.

My question would be - how complicated is your return? Do you owe any taxes for that year? If not, you are probably not required to file, however you may want to in case you get some of your tax paid back (have to weigh that against the money you will have to pay for someone to prepare it of course).

Edited by trailmix

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

If all you have are a couple of T4 slips, they are really easy to yourself online.

I use www.cutetax.com - It's like $10 and it's basically just filling out the T4 slip information and any tuition information etc. Then it calculates everything for you.