jeigra

what does "valid for work only with DHS authorization"in Social security card means?

16 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

Hello!

I am a newbie here in this forum.I've joined because I find it helpful in my status..I'm just confused now because I received my social security card that says, "valid for work only with DHS authorization"?What does that mean?I came here in a K1 visa and I recently got married but when I applied for my SSn after marriage they did not issue my SSn on my married name although I showed the original marriage certificate. They told me to report my name change to USCIS first and come back later..I called USCIS but no one answers..Is my SSN valid if I appled for my permanent RN license here in California?please help..I'm confused..thank you!!!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Colombia
Timeline

This means that in order to obtain employement the employers will need to also see a EAD ( work permit ) or your green card. Having the SSN however allows you to be able to open back accounts , maybe get a licesene etc.

Welcome to VJ

Edited by NArocks

Why is it that the only one who can stop the crying is the one who started it in the first place?

More Complete Story here
My Saga includes 2 step sons
USC Married 4/2007 Colombian on overstay since 2001 of B1/B2 visa
Applied 5/2007 Approved GC in Hand 10/2007
I-751 mailed 6/30/09 aapproved 11/7/09 The BOYS I-751 Mailed 12/29/09 3/23/10 Email approval for 17 CR 3/27/10
4/14/10 Email approval for 13 yr Old CR 4/23/10

Oldest son now 21 I-130 filed by LPR dad ( as per NVC CSPA is applying here )
I-130 approved 2/24
Priority date 12/6/2007
4/6/2010 letter from NVC arrives to son dated 3/4/2010
5/4/10 received AOS and DS3032 via email
9/22/10 Interview BOG Passed
10/3/10 POE JFK all went well
11/11/10 GC Received smile.png

Filed: Other Timeline