Nicaragua US Consulate Reviews

The Reviews below are actual experiences by members of the VisaJourney community and provide insight into the many immigration related offices around the world. If you are a member and would like to submit a review please follow one of the links below. To find reviews on a consulate or CIS office please make a selection from one of the pull down tabs and click "Find Entries".


Submit New Consulate Review     Submit New Local CIS Office Review     Statistics: Country || Local CIS Office

Consulate:    Local Office:    Rating:    Topic:   

Nicaragua Reviews
Average Rating: 3.93 / 5
42 Review(s)
Nicaragua
Review #13627 on January 12, 2014:


Firesp33dR


· Rating:

· 4 people found this review helpful

· Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: IR-1/CR-1 Visa

This review is based on my experience as the petitioner and my wife's first interview dated 11/26/2013.

The day started with us arriving at the embassy early, it was around 6:50 AM for our interview scheduled at 9:00 AM. There were two lines at the entrance, one was for applicants scheduled for immigrant visas interviews and the other one was for the none scheduled applicant; ex, tourist visa, non-immigrant visa, etc. There was an officer who works for the embassy, not from the US but a Nicaraguan who was there to guide people onto their respective lines. We stood outside, about 8 of us who were scheduled for that day. One of the embassy officers came out with a list which contained the names of the applicants scheduled for an interview, we gave our P4 interview letter to the officer and we were checked of the list (there was a lady who was not on the list, they told her that they moved the interview to another day, please check by e-mail or by phone that your interview date is scheduled**). About 10-15 minutes later the same officer came out and instructed us to open the medical envelope handed to us by the examiner about two weeks earlier, so we did as instructed.

It was around 8:40 when my wife was called into the embassy for her interview, I stayed outside as they said that they only needed the interviewee. It took about 2 hours by the time my wife came out again just to be sadden by the fact that they requested another paper. My wife told me that when she went inside she took a number (forgot the number), she proceeded to taking a seat and about an hour later she was called up by a women (Nicaraguan) and instructed to turn in any paper she had. From that point on she waited another 20-30 minutes to be called by an officer (American), it was a glass interview where she stood across a glass and the officer stood on the other side. She was asked how we met, if I (Petitioner) had any siblings, when we met and how long we had been together. She handed over our pictures, her police record and marriage certificate. She was told if she had a "Literal" marriage certificate, she answered no and the officer ended the interview requesting further paperwork. The officer then proceeded to writing down on a yellow or orange (forgot the color) paper the necessary documents required to conclude the interview, he told my wife to call the number listed on top of the paper to reschedule for a second interview. I was saddened due to the fact that that "literal" marriage certificate was relatively easy to attain and not notified beforehand of it being required. I called about one hour after the interview to reschedule, my heart literally sank when the closest interview was 1-1/2 month later, January 10th; so I just accepted what seamed like an offer.

Second Interview Dated 01/10/2014

I was in the states when this day came. Basically everything was the same up to when she went inside. My wife told me that she took a number and was called up by the same lady, instructed to give any paperwork and wait for her name. Another officer called her name and she went to the glass counter again. She was nervous and the officer (not the same, but was an American) proceeded with the interview, she was asked again how we met, how long and then he went to the original officer who interviewed her the first time, she noticed that he asked him a question and returned. The officer came back to the glass counter with a slight smile and told my wife congratulations that her visa was approved and good luck on her trip to the US. My wife delighted with the news proceeded to creating a river of tears on the spot. The officer then instructed her to go to the lady that took her papers, she told my wife that it would take 5-10 business days to process the visa. They stayed with her passport and they gave her a paper with directions on where to pick up her passport with visa. That ended her interview.

Awaiting for her to pick up her passport.



PM
Top
Nicaragua
Review #13202 on November 7, 2013:

blank avatar
Ali&Bil


· Rating:

· 1 person found this review helpful

· Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: K1 Visa

I didn't accompany my fiancee to his interview because I can't ask for so many days off work, and we decided it would be better for me to accompany him through security at the airport coming in because his English is still a work in progress. He said everything went really smoothly for him, he got there, they took his fingerprints and one of his pictures, told him to go sit down, called him back up, took all the forms and proof, asked him what I do for a living, what my parents do, where I live, where I was born, how we met, if I have any siblings and if I have any kids. Then they told him to go sit down and called him back a little later to go talk to the consular agent, who asked him all the same questions again, then he told him everything looked good and to go pick up his visa within 10 business days at the location we picked out before hand. They asked him at the beginning why I wasn't there, he explained why, and they seemed to understand completely, he was there from 7:45 to about 12:30.

PM
Top
Review #12572 on August 17, 2013:


Nicadecorazon


· Rating:

· 1 person found this review helpful

· Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: K1 Visa

Overall the experience was very good. Everyone was very friendly, nothing like some of the horror stories you sometimes hear about visa interviews. We did have to spend quite a long time at the embassy, almost six hours in all. We were delayed for a week while we fixed a couple of errors. 1st one was that they no longer accept the I-134 so we had to do an I-864. 2nd was that the DS-156 must be filled out online and then printed even though it states on the top of the form that you can do either. Our second visit was fast, in and out in an hour with the visa approval. All in all very friendly staff, and very helpful, my only complaint is that if their initial instructions were better it would have saved us another week of waiting.

PM
Top
Nicaragua
Review #11059 on December 10, 2012:

blank avatar
Malugo12


· Rating:


· Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: IR-1/CR-1 Visa

Send Form I 130 September 26, 2012, my Noa1 is October 1, 2012, I have not received NO2. someone of my same date?

PM
Top
Nicaragua
Review #10947 on November 24, 2012:


EdwardClement


· Rating:

· 2 people found this review helpful

· Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: K1 Visa

They wanted to know what attracted us to each other? they wanted to know if she spoke english and if spoke spanish ...They asked "what on my facebook profile sparked her interest?" (she friend-ed me first), why I picked a latina?, they asked why don't we get married in Managua? they asked her why she liked an older man :blush: he looked at all of the pictures, skype messages, facebook pages when we first met ... He wanted to know where this one picture was taken? (we were all dressed up), He wanted to know if I had children... he wanted to know
if we were going to have children... 1st interview was 15 mins, 2nd interview was like 20+ mins (seemed like forever)

There were 2 documents we did not have filled out correctly. One was the receipt confirmation number. there was a link to another page I had to have printed :bonk: Then the Immigration application form has to be filled out by a computer because a serial number is generated by the info in the application :bonk: ... there was a adhoc

computer/print shop setup across the street helped me out. It cost me 20 dollars but that was the best thing that could of happened :dance:

The interviewers were professional. overall we were treated fairly ... there is this one receptionist lady who is mean... but once we got past her ... things went fine.


PM
Top
Now Showing Records 16 to 20 (of 42 total)

Pages: First 2 3 4 5 6 Last  




Review Statistics: