Nicaragua US Consulate Reviews

The Reviews below are actual experiences by members of the VisaJourney community and provide insight into the many immigration related offices around the world. If you are a member and would like to submit a review please follow one of the links below. To find reviews on a consulate or CIS office please make a selection from one of the pull down tabs and click "Find Entries".


Submit New Consulate Review     Submit New Local CIS Office Review     Statistics: Country || Local CIS Office

Consulate:    Local Office:    Rating:    Topic:   

Nicaragua Reviews
Average Rating: 3.93 / 5
44 Review(s)
Nicaragua
Review #14192 on March 27, 2014:


sadavis5


· Rating:

· 1 person found this review helpful

· Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: K1 Visa

The consulate is pretty quick about responding to emails. They got back to me within a few hours if I emailed them before 3pm. However, the content of the responses was not great. If I asked more than one question per email, they would pick the least important question and answer only that.

We made a mistake on the DS-160 (school dates) and emailed the consulate. They said that the consular officer would change it during the interview. The consular officer said he had no way to change the DS-160, so we shouldn't worry about it. If we had made a serious mistake, such as a DOB or name, I don't know what we would have done.

The packet 3/4 you get says to bring the I-864. Another K1 couple said that they emailed about this and were told to bring the I-134. They took both from me for some reason.

At the first window, we were asked what year we met. Neither of us were sure on the year, and I didn't want to say anything wrong, so I flipped through my passport & found the year. Then we were asked how we met, how many times I'd been to visit, when he proposed, and how we communicate when apart. For the actual interview, my fiance was asked how we met, how he proposed, what my job was, and why we'd get married in the US and not Nicaragua. That was really all he asked!

When we were leaving, the security people didn't believe that we hadn't brought cell phones. We had to argue with them before we could leave.

The consulate lost the DS-160 confirmation page and tried to call my fiance, but he lost his phone. When the visa wasn't ready after 2 weeks, I inquired with NVC. They sent a request to the consulate, but the consulate didn't reply within the set timeframe. I directly emailed the consulate, and they replied to me in 10 minutes! I gave them my fiance's phone number, but at that point the consulate's phone didn't work. Gah! Eventually we got an appointment worked out via email. I asked if he needed to bring anything else, or just drop off the DS-160, and they didn't answer. He was refused entry to the consulate, so I had to call & get the appointment letter from the NVC figured out while he sat outside. The ciber down the street charged him $10 a page to print stuff, after initially saying $30 a page!

When he picked up the passport/visa in Rivas, he needed to have the appointment letter from the interview with the sticker they put on it - just printing the appointment letter wasn't good enough.

PM
Top
Nicaragua
Review #13891 on February 18, 2014:


Yanet Gonzalez


· Rating:

· 1 person found this review helpful

· Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: K1 Visa

We went to the interview together and I'm really glad I was there.

His interview was scheduled for 2/14/2014 at 8am. We were at the embassy at 7:15 the officer asked us for the appointment conformation letter and walk us to the security check point. They took our cells phones asked us to open the medical exam paperwork and walked through the metal detector.

When we got to the 2nd check point the office asked us why the medical exam paperwork open. I told him the first office asked us to open it. (It wasn't a big deal just thought I mention it) and walk through another metal detector.

We went to a 3rd room where they gave us a number and told us if we were approved today, they would keep his passport and send it to the place we pick online and it would take 6 business days to receive. She asked us to sit in front of window 1.

We waited like 10 to 15 minutes (while they ate breakfast and drank their coffee) and then they finally started called they first number to the window.

After about another 15 to 20 minutes we were called to the first window, the lady asked for the appointment conformation. She then asked for the paperwork. She gave us some papers back and staple some papers together and told us we looked like brother and sister. My fiancée and I looked at each other and started laughing out loud. She then started asking how many times I visited Nicaragua, and how long we have known each other. She staple a little orange paper to his passport. She told us someone from window 3 will call us by name.

We sat in front of window 3, we can see the Consulate looking though all the paperwork. It kind of make my fiancée nervous. When he finish looking through our pictures he called us up to window 3. (I didn’t even ask if I could go, I just walk right up to the window with him lol)

After taking his finger prints and swearing him in, he started asking us questions. The Consulate was so nice, he seemed to be happy for us. I smile a lot, and looked at my fiancée when he asked the questions.

He asked us
•How did we meet?
•Why do we want to get married in the US?
•What he loved about me?
•He asked me, what I loved about him.
•They asked him, when he gets to the US if he was going to school or work.
•Where I worked.
•What I do for a living.
•Where I was born.
•How did he propose?
•How many times have I visited Nicaragua?
•Did I know his family?
•Did he know my family?
•How do we communicate?

At the end he told us “Now you have to buy her an engagement ring because you guys have been approved! Congratulations! Have a Happy Valentine’s Day!

I didn’t know what to think, we was so happy! We almost ran out of there.


PM
Top
Nicaragua
Review #13627 on January 12, 2014:


Firesp33dR


· Rating:

· 4 people found this review helpful

· Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: IR-1/CR-1 Visa

This review is based on my experience as the petitioner and my wife's first interview dated 11/26/2013.

The day started with us arriving at the embassy early, it was around 6:50 AM for our interview scheduled at 9:00 AM. There were two lines at the entrance, one was for applicants scheduled for immigrant visas interviews and the other one was for the none scheduled applicant; ex, tourist visa, non-immigrant visa, etc. There was an officer who works for the embassy, not from the US but a Nicaraguan who was there to guide people onto their respective lines. We stood outside, about 8 of us who were scheduled for that day. One of the embassy officers came out with a list which contained the names of the applicants scheduled for an interview, we gave our P4 interview letter to the officer and we were checked of the list (there was a lady who was not on the list, they told her that they moved the interview to another day, please check by e-mail or by phone that your interview date is scheduled**). About 10-15 minutes later the same officer came out and instructed us to open the medical envelope handed to us by the examiner about two weeks earlier, so we did as instructed.

It was around 8:40 when my wife was called into the embassy for her interview, I stayed outside as they said that they only needed the interviewee. It took about 2 hours by the time my wife came out again just to be sadden by the fact that they requested another paper. My wife told me that when she went inside she took a number (forgot the number), she proceeded to taking a seat and about an hour later she was called up by a women (Nicaraguan) and instructed to turn in any paper she had. From that point on she waited another 20-30 minutes to be called by an officer (American), it was a glass interview where she stood across a glass and the officer stood on the other side. She was asked how we met, if I (Petitioner) had any siblings, when we met and how long we had been together. She handed over our pictures, her police record and marriage certificate. She was told if she had a "Literal" marriage certificate, she answered no and the officer ended the interview requesting further paperwork. The officer then proceeded to writing down on a yellow or orange (forgot the color) paper the necessary documents required to conclude the interview, he told my wife to call the number listed on top of the paper to reschedule for a second interview. I was saddened due to the fact that that "literal" marriage certificate was relatively easy to attain and not notified beforehand of it being required. I called about one hour after the interview to reschedule, my heart literally sank when the closest interview was 1-1/2 month later, January 10th; so I just accepted what seamed like an offer.

Second Interview Dated 01/10/2014

I was in the states when this day came. Basically everything was the same up to when she went inside. My wife told me that she took a number and was called up by the same lady, instructed to give any paperwork and wait for her name. Another officer called her name and she went to the glass counter again. She was nervous and the officer (not the same, but was an American) proceeded with the interview, she was asked again how we met, how long and then he went to the original officer who interviewed her the first time, she noticed that he asked him a question and returned. The officer came back to the glass counter with a slight smile and told my wife congratulations that her visa was approved and good luck on her trip to the US. My wife delighted with the news proceeded to creating a river of tears on the spot. The officer then instructed her to go to the lady that took her papers, she told my wife that it would take 5-10 business days to process the visa. They stayed with her passport and they gave her a paper with directions on where to pick up her passport with visa. That ended her interview.

Awaiting for her to pick up her passport.



PM
Top
Nicaragua
Review #13202 on November 7, 2013:

blank avatar
Ali&Bil


· Rating:

· 1 person found this review helpful

· Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: K1 Visa

I didn't accompany my fiancee to his interview because I can't ask for so many days off work, and we decided it would be better for me to accompany him through security at the airport coming in because his English is still a work in progress. He said everything went really smoothly for him, he got there, they took his fingerprints and one of his pictures, told him to go sit down, called him back up, took all the forms and proof, asked him what I do for a living, what my parents do, where I live, where I was born, how we met, if I have any siblings and if I have any kids. Then they told him to go sit down and called him back a little later to go talk to the consular agent, who asked him all the same questions again, then he told him everything looked good and to go pick up his visa within 10 business days at the location we picked out before hand. They asked him at the beginning why I wasn't there, he explained why, and they seemed to understand completely, he was there from 7:45 to about 12:30.

PM
Top
Review #12572 on August 17, 2013:


Nicadecorazon


· Rating:

· 1 person found this review helpful

· Click here if you found this review helpful
Review Topic: K1 Visa

Overall the experience was very good. Everyone was very friendly, nothing like some of the horror stories you sometimes hear about visa interviews. We did have to spend quite a long time at the embassy, almost six hours in all. We were delayed for a week while we fixed a couple of errors. 1st one was that they no longer accept the I-134 so we had to do an I-864. 2nd was that the DS-156 must be filled out online and then printed even though it states on the top of the form that you can do either. Our second visit was fast, in and out in an hour with the visa approval. All in all very friendly staff, and very helpful, my only complaint is that if their initial instructions were better it would have saved us another week of waiting.

PM
Top
Now Showing Records 16 to 20 (of 44 total)

Pages: First 2 3 4 5 6 Last  




Review Statistics: