21 posts in this topic

Filed: F-2A Visa Country: India
Timeline

Hi there,
I had a question about using my AOS based EAD while I am an F-1 student. 
My i-485 application is pending, and my EAD card is about to arrive soon, but I've read that using AOS based EAD would violate my f-1 status. 
I've always maintained it, and still want to until I actually receive my green card and I'm still pursuing my bachelor's degree anyway.
I've asked my DSO but he seems to think that I can't use my EAD, but judging from our conversations I think most DSOs are pretty unaware of the whole immigration process. So I don't want to just take his word for it. 
If using AOS based EAD is not an issue usually, would it be at the discretion of the University still? To let me maintain my legal f-1 status?
Thanks for your help!

Filed: L-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

If you work you will lose F1status. If you use EAD to get a drivers license, ID nope thats fine. If you use AP you lose F1 status.

F1 is not dual intent visa, moment your intent changes you lose future status.

Filed: Timeline

If you use a benefit from AOS and your green card is approved, then you don't have a problem.

If you don't use a benefit from AOS (i.e. did not use the EAD from AOS) and your AOS gets denied, then you did not violate the terms of your F1 status.

If you use a benefit from AOS and your AOS gets denied, then your F1 becomes invalid.

The problem is that AOS denial is bad.  Using the EAD from AOS to work while your AOS is processing would be a violation of your F1 status if AOS is denied.    

I'm currently on a F1 too, and I'm outside the USA and I'll use my AP at the end of the month to get back, and I already used my EAD after I got it...

I'm planning to attend school, asking for a reduced course load because I'm pregnant.. I'll talk with my counselor when I get back and I'll see what he will tell me..

I130 approved 10/18/2016 - PD 07/11/2016

My AOS timeline: I-765, I-131, I-485