toreador

Help! Married to LPR. Dropped school after filing I-485. AOS interview next month.

51 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

I am right now in really stressful situation and would like to know if anyone had any experience /knowledge about it.

I entered USA in 2011 as F1 student for attending school A and met my husband. I graduated in May 2013 and got a job. My husband and I decided to get married in March 2014. I applied for H1B through work, but was denied. 

So I applied school B and transfer my I-20, starting in January 2015. My husband got his green card in January 2015 and applied I-130 petition for me.

I requested reduced course load in August 2016 due to high risk pregnancy, and dropped the school after I filed I-485 application.

My husband applied for naturalization in Nov 2017.

Here is the brief timeline:

Jun 17, 2015 – I-130 application

Aug 21,2015 – I-130 approved

Oct 4, 2016 - I-485 Adjustment of status application sent

Oct 19, 2016 - I-485 Adjustment of status application received

Nov 8, 2016 - Fingerprint & Biometrics appointments

Dec 2016 - Last attendance at school B; SEVIS terminated

got the AOS interview notice. It will be next month. We consulted a lawyer about interview strategy, but the lawyer told us that because I dropped the school (after filing I-485) and am out of status, I will get a denial at the interview.

The lawyer suggests we reschedule the interview and ask to put on hold until my husband becomes a citizen.

My questions:

1) Am I out of status? At the date of filing, I was still in F1 status. Will this be a big problem for my interview?

2) If we decide to reschedule, will USCIS ask reasons why we want to reschedule? Do we need to provide proof later?

3) I know once the LPR spouse becomes citizen, you can upgrade your I-130 petition. But can we upgrade my I-485 petition? 

Thank you!