konamix

K-1 or CR-1 in this case?

16 posts in this topic

Timeline

Hello,
I was wondering what might be the best option in our situation. I am a USC engaged to a Japanese citizen. We decided it would be best for us to live here in the US.

My taxes for last year were filed jointly with my ex-husband, and I have no income because I am currently a student and staying with my friends. I will have about $50k in cash soon (as part of the settlement agreement from my divorce), and my fiance has ~$10k. I know this is not enough to meet the guidelines for liquid assets, and with my current lack of income, I need a cosponsor who meets the requirements. Luckily, I have one.

Given that we will use a cosponsor, would the K-1 or CR-1 be the wisest choice? Does it really matter?

How do most people who are engaged decide between the K-1 or CR-1?

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Estonia
Timeline

We were also choosing between K-1 and C-1 (husband USC, I'm Estonian and we met in New Zealand). Finally decided to go with CR-1 for following reasons:

- in the end K-1 would be more expensive

- it seems that before K-1 had significant better timeline but now it takes almost as long as CR-1

- entering to US on K-1 visa would mean I can't travel and work for some period of time until paperwork is finalized

- because we currently do seasonal work in New Zealand, it would be a lot harder to try to make it work with K-1 timeline

We are currently in the middle of CR-1 (case is received by NVC, waiting for case number). It is quite hard to be apart but we are trying our best with me visiting him in US (using ESTA) as much as I can. The good thing is that we can still spend the season in New Zealand together, so it all could be worse.

Filed: Other Country: China
Timeline

The circumstances you describe are really irrelevant to your choice.  I would make it based on your own priorities.

Facts are cheap...knowing how to use them is precious...