Grantman1987

Starting k1 petition for OFW? Plus income decisions: Help

33 posts in this topic

Hello, I'm new to this and its a pretty complicated situation. I apologize if I'm all over the place. 

A) Timing

I recently visited my finance in philippines Feb 2018. After vacation, she returned to Saudi Arabia to finish her ofw contract. Her contract will be finished in March of next year (2019). Should I try starting the k-1 petition immediately, or wait? Im affraid if I petition now and she receives an interview date, she won't be home to attend it. 

B) Income

My annual income is around 34k working two dead end jobs. I believe its just above the poverty level requirements. I'm contemplating if I should go back into truck driving (cross country) for 1 year so that I can use the experience and get a good paying local driving job with waste management. It would be good especially for when my fiance comes. The problem is if I go over the road trucking now, it would negatively affect my income (for the first year) and I may not reach the income requirement to bring my fiance here. My other option is to continue working my two jobs, wait until my fiance is approved to come here, then pursue the trucking while she is here. Ultimately the plan is to have a good paying driving job for the city, with benifits, which will be great for my fiance and I. 

Any suggestions, advice, comments or opinions? Thanks

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Ecuador
Timeline

wherever she interviews she will need criminal inestigation reports from her home country and where she has lived for over a year in the last 5 years

you only need 100% of poverty guidelines for K1

125% after marriage for AOS

3 minutes ago, kris&me said:

wherever she interviews she will need criminal inestigation reports from her home country and where she has lived for over a year in the last 5 years

you only need 100% of poverty guidelines for K1

125% after marriage for AOS