Sara.S

Please help! I was selected but don't have sponsor nor personal assets

5 posts in this topic

I was selected for further processing to apply for a diversity visa, however, i do not have anyone in the US to sponsor me nor do I have personal assests, the only choice left for me is to get a job offer but i do not know how i should proceed. I am an english lit undergrad student without professional experience and I do not know how i am supposed to find an offer that will wait for me to apply for the visa.

My only advantage are my languages (french arabic english).

I think you are misunderstanding the requirements of the visa. A DV does not require anyone to sponsor you or a job offer. If you have a reasonable education that will enable you to find a job and support yourself, you should be fine. 

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

What are your plans when you enter the US, migration is not cheap, how will you fund your move?

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

• 3 weeks later...

You are relatively young. I know people who won and only had about 6- 8,000$ on their bank accounts when they had their GC- interview. All of them got approved. Can/could you take out a loan? Borrow money? I mean, you need some money to move - it is easier when young, in the sense of rent a cheap room, work whatever to get on your feet and so on - but you have to have some kind of plan. 

If this would be me, I would get a second job (bartending for example) to save as much money as possible till the interview and either take out a loan or borrow money from family/friends to have around 8-10,000$ on my bank account and a plan to pay it back within 2 years.