Tom&Angie

Early TB test and possible treatment

68 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

Hello everyone. I am new to the forum, have an active k1 visa timeline, and of course questions. Really just one subject at this point.

TB- I had no idea of the high prevalence of it in Phils. I really thought the medical exam would be no issue as I figured it geared more towards STD, HIV, pregnancy and the like. I really never considered TB.  

So my question- I would like to get an advance screening TB test for my fiance. I realize that St. Lukes will not accept any other test but their own. But if she is found to be positive for TB now she could start treatment while we're waiting months (really an eternity I think) for NOA2. Could someone offer their educated opinion on my plan? My question. If treated just prior to St. Lukes medical exam, would the sputum test then be negative? I would think so but i am not an expert. Also what would happen if she was in the process of treatment? just delay the medical exam until after the full treatment course?

Normally I would just wait and follow the process, but of course now k1 Visas take 7-9 months or longer to approve.  Add in another 6 months for treatment... we will be having our 50 year anniversary before we even live together. 

Filed: Other Country: Romania
Timeline

There is a blood test she can take, and that is the most accurate way to test for TB. It is called Interferon  Gamma Release Essay (IGRA) and it will  turn positive even if she has latent TB .