almostfamousgrl

I-134 for K-1 - Joint Sponsorship Question

8 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Long time lurker, first time poster and all that. This forum has been absolutely invaluable during the K-1 process, so a quick thanks to all of you! ^_^ I 

My partner just received his packet from the London embassy so we are now working to assemble the remaining required documents for the medical and interview. My last piece of this equation is the I-134. At the moment, I am unemployed. I'm a recent graduate and I'm working on obtaining work but it's taking longer than we anticipated. My dad has agreed to act as a joint sponsor for the visa. He's a champ for stepping in, and easily meets the requirements.

I have two main questions:

1. How should the packet be organized? I know that we should both fill out the 1-134 and provide financial documentation backing it up. Should I include a cover letter? Should there be any letter from my joint sponsor explaining his relationship to me and his willingness to take responsibility? 
  2. In terms of an employment letter (which I hear the London Embassy loves), what should it include? I'm figuring it should be on company letterhead, stating the nature of the employment, how long he's been employed, and what he makes. Is there anything else they look for?

Thanks in advance to anyone willing to help me out. I'd love to hear from people who used a joint sponsor on their application and what their experience was like with the London embassy.

Cheers! :D

1) Cover letter to outline what you enclose with the I-134s is not a bad idea. However, your dad doesn't need to write a letter to explain your relationship with him and his willingness to take responsibility. The info he input in the I-134 would illustrate just that and he's signing under penalty of perjury anyways.