loshyian

B2 visa for Filipina wife

9 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Philippines
Timeline

I am a USA citizen married to filipina for 15 months. We are living in Philippines permanently (for now). We are in the process of gathering all supporting docs for interview for B2 visa for a 3 week trip to USA to see friends and family and plan to interview in Manila in the next month or so. My wife has only left the philippines once on a 4 day trip to Hong Kong with me last year. She has a good job here in the Philippines (about $1800/mo after taxes) and her daughter is here in the Philippines as well. I am currently a permanent resident of the Philippines. Just trying to get a feel on her chances of getting a B2 visa, as I am a little worried because of her minimum foreign travel. 

Do you guys have a lease or property? That and the job might work well. The child does not matter because people have left children behind.

Also, the information about you being a permanent resident and making sure they understand this is a holiday is important. I have read that consuls sometimes tell people they need to get a spousal visa just to visit (dumb, obviously), but it has happened to some on VJ. I am referring to cases in which the US citizen was living in the same country as the foreigner and there were no plans to relocate. 

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ireland
Timeline

It van be difficult for a spouse of a US citizen to get a tourist visa; be sure to also show YOUR ties to the Phils, because if you go back, she will.

Bye: Penguin

Me: Irish/ Swiss citizen, and now naturalised US citizen. Husband: USC; twin babies born Feb 08 in Ireland and a daughter in Feb 2010 in Arkansas who are all joint Irish/ USC. Did DCF (IR1) in 6 weeks via the Dublin, Ireland embassy and now living in Arkansas.

mod penguin.jpg

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

Let us know how you get on.