SimonB89

OPT Denied because of school error

10 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Ireland
Timeline

I am a F-1 Student applying for my second OPT.

Just received my letter of denial for the following reason;

The Student & Exchange Visitor System indicates that you have previously been granted 12 months of practical training for your Bachelor's degree....Review failed to establish that you have changed to a higher education level.

I had just graduated with my Masters and upon research, found my school DSO never updated my form I-20 from "Bachelor's" to "Master's", Hence the denial.

I am left with filing a motion to re-open or reconsicer Form I-290B. I have a few questions as this is new to me and my school has no idea what is going on, and will not help me with the $675 cost of the form. USCIS information hotline were very unhelpful also, and the lady started," There is nothing I can do", When I told her I am getting no help from my school.

1. Do I file a motion to re-open or re-consider? as they are both options and the motion form I-290B lists 6 different options

2. Where do I submit the form, as their is no location for the form I-765 that was denied.

Any other information provided would be greatly appreciated as I have to submit the form this week, as I only have 30 days to file the motion.

Thank you 

Can you get an appointment at USCIS to ask them about this? It seems too complicated and I am not sure someone on VJ will know about this.

https://my.uscis.gov/appointment

You can do an appointment to submit an application in person and take the paperwork filled out. If there is something you are not sure with, you can leave it blank and ask them.

Anyway, that is what I'd do if I were in your situation.

You should file a complaint with the university, maybe the graduate student provost or something, about what the office for international students did. It is unacceptable. It could have jeopardized your status and the fee is very costly.