eliottreid

Apply while under J1 2 year rule

13 posts in this topic

Hello all

I'll be in my country and I need to fulfill those 2 years. Is it possible to submit the I130 and go through the NVC process while still fulfilling the 2 years? I really don't want to wait another year after the 2 years. If I finish the 2 year rule in August when should I submit the I130?

My husband is a US citizen btw.

Thanks

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Brazil
Timeline

I'm not a lawyer or anything, but my husband's two year requirement ended in January of 2017. I waited until December 2016 to file an I-130, but I think that your husband can submit everything for an I-130 3 or 4 months before your time is up. It usually takes ~4-9 months for an I-130 to be processed, and based on what I've read, it's not necessary to wait until your two years are up to file an I-130. However, you do have to wait until the two years are up to proceed to the next step, where you apply for a green card. Best of luck! 

03/28/14 Met my husband in college while he was studying abroad in the USA

01/19/15 He had to move back to Brazil

12/31/15 Got engaged in the USA

07/25/16 Got married in Brazil

12/24/16 Sent I-130 to Chicago lockbox

01/11/17 Got all of my paperwork back via mail due to "incorrect fees" and "outdated forms" (They made a mistake, and there was absolutely nothing I could do about it.) 

01/20/17 Clean copy of same I-130 and new check for same dollar amount sent back to Chicago lockbox

01/27/17 NOA1 - Texas Service Center 

Yes, you may file at any time, but you should not do the interview until the 2YHRR is fulfilled. Some embassies are very strict on the time counted, and may permit you to notify them once the time is up and then issue the visa. Others may deny you outright if you interview before the requirement is met.