Angeluth12

How to move to the USA

49 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hi, I am an European-citizen living in the UK, England and I would like to know what are the legal ways to move to America to work, live and eventually study with my family(Me my wife and child). I have no knowledge about what are the first steps I need to take, I have read that for each activity I need a different visa and that there is a new type of visa(am not sure about this) called Diversity Visa. Can those that migrated to the US explain what were the steps they took many thanks.

Angelo Joaquim 

You didn't really do much study, did you?

Diversity Visa is not a visa. There is a thing called a Diversity Lottery.

I see you're a citizen of the UK? Then you are NOT ELIGIBLE to apply for the diversity lottery anyway.  By the way, it's like one of those money lotteries. You "win" if you're lucky.

Honestly? There is really very little ways someone can legally move to the US.

1. You're already married so marrying the US citizen is out of question.

2. I assume you have no parents living in the US who could sponsor you, so that's out of the question also.

3. Both work visa and student visa (if you're a student) are only TEMPORARY visas. They do not guarantee that you'd even become a permanent resident.

4. If you some some SPECIAL skills, you might be able to qualify for the work visa. Just a note, you do not apply for it. You'd have to find an employer in the US who would be willing to go through the visa paperwork and pay for you. Like I said, there is a bunch of requirements both sides here have to fulfill.

K1

29.11.2013 - NoA1

06.02.2014 - NoA2

01.04.2014 - Interview. 

AoS

03.2015 - AoS started.

09.2015 - Green Card received.  

RoC

24.07.2017 - NoA1.

01.08.2018 - RoC approved. 

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline

Also, to ad to Roel's message.