Bayoubrit

Job seeking advice

11 posts in this topic

Hey everyone, 

I am a mechanical engineer in the oil & gas field with 19 years experience. When i first moved to New Orleans i was applied left right and center. I did find out that here in Louisiana it is who you know as well as what you know, so i decided to look at other jobs that my skills matched. In my field i have had not one response or invitation to interview!

So my question is this: 

Since this is the US and it seems 90% of the world would like to live and work here, does the fact my CV/ resume only has UK company and work experience? Are we going to be fighting against all the internet applications that can be done anywhere in the world? Now i am thinking i am going to start sending a copy of my green card or welcome letter attached to prove i can work here. Now i know that resume rules or norms says you dont include that information but i almost feel i am being put into the ' another UK guy wants us to sponsor a Visa to work here' category. 

Thanks,

Filed: Country:
Timeline

the green card and welcome letter will hurt you more than help since it proves you are a foreigner instead of having them make that guess with your work experience. there is a part of every application I have seen that asks if you are authorized to work in the us and if you will require sponsorship in the future. this is the question that sets you apart from the Internet ones.

have you had your degree equivalency done?

how long have you been looking for work since November and December is a slow time for hiring.

Right now hiring in oil & gas would be slow based on the low prices. Not sure if you are totally committed to Louisiana but have you tried widening your search to include Texas; I believe your chances would be better there. Also is your resume in the "US" format? apparently HR in the US prefer 1 page (2 pages max) resumes.

On ‎1‎/‎15‎/‎2017 at 3:05 PM, Bayoubrit said:

Hey everyone,