Paloma80

CR-1 Visa Interview in Santo Domingo

5 posts in this topic

This is my first time here and I hope someone can help answer my question. My husband just got his interview date for the CR-1 Visa and we are excited but I am a little bit concerned. When I applied for his visa I had no problem with the affidavit of support as I had a good job and more than sufficient income. I am reading that one of the documents required for his interview is an affidavit of support, I got laid off recently and was wondering if I need a new affidavit or can use the information from the one I submitted when I filed for him. We sent the original to the NVC and I thought they would forward it to the consulate but I guess this wasn't the case. Anyone that can add on to this? I was thinking of using prior information for a new affidavit and use my last year tax returns, I am so worried about this whole thing affecting what we have worked so hard for:( 

***Moved from Progress Reports to Process & Procedures.***

**Moderator hat off**

Despite what the notice says, the NVC did forward your other Affidavit of Support forum; I cannot speak to why another one is being required.

However, it's a moot point, because the information on the previous paperwork has fundamentally changed (i.e. the source of income is no longer there), that paperwork can no longer be used and a new one is now required.  If you use the prior information, you would be claiming income from a source that no longer is there and that is knowingly submitting false information; doing this will have serious consequences for your spouse.

Our journey:

Spoiler

September 2007: Met online via social networking site (MySpace); began exchanging messages.
March 26, 2009: We become a couple!
September 10, 2009: Arrived for first meeting in-person!
June 17, 2010: Arrived for second in-person meeting and start of travel together to other areas of China!
June 21, 2010: Engaged!!!