Caffelatte

F1 to stay with my boyfriend

7 posts in this topic

Hi,

So I have a tricky situation. I studied in California on an f1 and received an associates degree (ready to transfer) and I also met my boyfriend who is a USC (we have been together for over three years now). Unfortunately, I could not afford transferring to get my BA, so I moved home to Sweden in may of 2015.

Since I moved home I've been in U.S for almost seven months, six months in 2016. Last time I entered was in September, and since I was talking classes online and receiving financial aid from Sweden - I thought it would be a good idea to stay as long as possible, hence 90 days.

The USBP officer started asking me questions; who I was visiting, what kind of nationalities my friends have, how I'm able to leave my part time job for three months etc. (they never really asked me this before). I told him the truth, that my boyfriend lives here, that I'm an online student receving financial aid from Sweden and that my part time job doesn't give a damn about it. However, he was skeptic and said I can't stay here for more than I stay in my home country (that's not quite true, I stayed two more weeks in Sweden than in the U.S).

I just found out that NON of the classes a took during community college will be possible to transfer to my Swedish school, which feels like a waste. I found a school that I'll be able to afford in California and that admits students every month, which means I could start in March and stop wasting my time. I'll be done in 14 months instead of three years.

Do you think it will be an issue to enter mid February on an F1 after leaving on an esta Dec 18?