AdamGreaves

Moving to America

37 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hello

My partner and I are planning to move to America following a 6 month road trip in 2018.

When we finish the road trip we will return to the UK to make arrangements to move to America permanently.

I currently own a pub and my partner works in human resources. Prior to this I worked as an engineer.

Can anybody provide some advice on what sort of visa I should pursue or any preparations we should make?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Adam

Filed: Other Country: Canada
Timeline

firstly you need to find a job willing to sponsor you. their immigration lawyers look after the rest. no job, no visa. or if you have the funds, look into an investment visa

keep in mind what may happen once Donald Trump is in office.

Edited by Transborderwife

Not as simple as you may think. Do you have immediate family here? Or a company to sponsor you?

Investment visa requires hundreds of thousands of dollars.

“When starting an immigration journey, the best advice is to understand that sacrifices have to be made... whether it is time, money, or separation; or a combination of all.” - Unlockable

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

Do you have a B Visa? How will you do a 6 month trip?

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

I like how easy it all sounds in your post. :)

Basically, you cannot move to the USA just like that. Those are your option.

1. You have a close US citizen relative willing to sponsor you. If yes - then you have to marry your partner and once you move to the US and become a legal resident, you can sponsor him/her. Takes couple of years.