Hdiesel4

DV2017 need some unclear questions answered please!!

15 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Australia
Timeline

Hi guys,

So i have been driving myself insane since 2015, registering for the DV Lottery, waiting for acceptance email (Yay finally), submitting application and then waiting once again, got the scheduled interview at the Sydney Consulate and sh** just got real and exciting !!! Anyhow so Iv been researching and researching and I just wanted some questions cleared up if possible ?

I have checked on the forum and some questions still leaving me crazily sleepless! If you find that these questions have been answered then please don't hesitate to direct me in the right direction/link (or you can just answer :P )

I do appreciate everybody and will thank whoever can help ease my mind in advance !!! So thank you!!

Okay here goes:

1. Regarding The Police Check do i have to get a full finger print police check with the AFP or is Name Check Only acceptable? (I just received my name check and all is good but then I read an article with someone's experience and they mentioned they had taken a finger print police check and I was like FML why didn't I read this BEFORE I applied for a standard name check only...)

2. I don't need to apply for a Re-Entry permit if I don't plan on leaving the US for longer then 6 months once going to the US to "claim/activate" my green card within the 6 months of my interview/medical exam, correct?

( For example:

Interview Jan (fingers crossed get the visa)

Fly to US in June/July

Organise Social Security Number, bank account and maybe even apply for some jobs

Now obviously depending on how long everything takes to get all that completed and if I get a job offer

I will just stay there and woot woot can say I moved to the US

But if no job offer isn't at present I'll head back home to Australia and work on finances and plan to Make official move for Jan 2018!)

Okay they are really just my main concerns for now !