Kellyjakpa96

F-1 student AOS through Marriage to USC

12 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Nigeria
Timeline

I am an F-1 student in the US for 10 months and I will be marrying a USC in 2 weeks. How likely am I to be approved for GC

I have been studying in the US for 10 months and I still go to college. I entered the country legally. I meet a girl and fell in love with her. She is a USC and we are getting married in 2 weeks. We plan to apply for AOS in January. My questions are:

1. How likely am I to get approved?

2. Am I eligible since I have been in the US for only 10 months?

3. What can I do to make sure I get approved?

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Peru
Timeline

1. If you meet all of the requirements, you will be approved.

2. Yes. It doesn't matter how long you have been in the US?

3. You need to fill out all of the necessary forms truthfully and correctly.

- You have to pass the medical exam so that you can send in (or present at interview) a valid I-693

- You need to have proof of a bonafide marriage to send in with the I-130.

- You need to fill out the I-485 correctly and truthfully be able to answer "No" to all of the questions in Part III, or be able to satisfactorily explain any "Yes" answers that aren't automatically disqualifying. (These are questions about being a Nazi, communist, terrorist, polygamist, drug trafficker, weapons trafficker, etc ...)

- Your wife or your wife and a joint sponsor need to correctly fill out I-864s showing that they have enough income and assets to support you in the US, along with satisfactory proof of the income or assets.

- File the I-765 and I-131 correctly, with the required docs, if you wish to work and travel before your greencard is approved (highly recommended).