chicha

Divorce waiver petition anyone in same boat?

1 post in this topic

Filed: Lift. Cond. (apr) Country: China
Timeline
Hi all,
My ex and I were visiting VisaJourney since we worked on K-1 visa. I'm back here, and posting my journey so far on ROC in the hope that if approved, it will serve as useful info for others. And if I get an interview, I'll post the notes as the journey continues.
- I met my ex-spouse (US Citizen) when I was a student in US in 2009. I went back to China in 2010, and my ex-spouse petitioned a K-1 visa in April 2013.
- I came back to US and married ex-spouse in May 2013. I obtained conditional green card in December 2013.
- Ex-spouse and I separated in April 2014 primarily due to in-law issues, and also personality conflicts and cultural differences. Divorce was finalized in October 2014.
-I submitted I-751 with no attorney help in June 2015, including affidavits (me, ex-spouse, rabbi, marriage counselor), joint bank account history, jointed tax return, health insurance, photos. This month (April 2016, I received a RFE asking for more evidence of "shared assets and responsibilities", and overall evidence of good faith marriage.
I purposefully delayed the RFE response because I had two overseas trips to make, knowing my green card status is still valid in the meantime. After I came back, I assembled the following packet and sent it to USCIS on June 8th.
- Second affidavit of mine (explained my bad credit that prevented us from getting loans together, issues with in-laws and dissatisfaction living in the same residence due to vicinity to the in-laws). - My ex refused to submit one testifying that I lived there throughout the marriage and he bought a car for my use.
- Verizon customer agreement, record of my ex purchasing a used car (I don't know how useful they are since my name is not on it, as I explained the credit problem.
- Hospital records with ex as emergency support, related to a breakdown I had at end of the marriage.