11 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Algeria
Timeline

Hi guys, I'm new here and I really need help!

I came to the US in June 2014 as a permanent resident, now I want to get married in September 2016 and I don't know how to start!

I don't know if I have to deal with a lawyer or do it by my self, and I don't know if it worth it to apply right know while I'm a resident or waiting for the naturalization due to the long processing time!

I'm really confused, I've seen some people waiting for more than 2years! and it's gonna be juste horrible for me!

I hope that someone here in this forum may help me with all this questions

Thank you very much

Filed: Other Country: Pakistan
Timeline

Its only two years since you got your green card so you are no close to naturalization soon. You can apply for your wife under F2a category as soon as you get married. Current waiting time under this category is 1&1/2 to two years. IR category takes 1 to 1& 1/2 yr so not much difference. The plus point is that you can always switch to IR from From F2a.

Filed: Country: Vietnam (no flag)
Timeline

Hi,

You can not apply right now since an LPR can not file for a fiancée. You can only file after you get marry; it would be an F2a case where an LPR is petitioning for a spouse. The current wait is 2 years. Your spouse's wait time may be longer or shorter - there is no way to predict how long your spouse will have to wait.

You would be eligible for US citizenship around June 2019. It doesn't make sense for you to wait for citizenship to petition your spouse. That only makes the wait longer.

Read the Guides. You will have to determine whether you can do-it-yourself or you would rather have a lawyer.

Best of luck

Timeline