Elvis&Sky

K-1 Visa process

2 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Venezuela
Timeline

Hello all,

I have a few questions about the visa process to help ease my nerves. A little bit about myself; I am 21, and my boyfriend is 23, I met him online in May, I'm the US citizen, and he's from Venezuela. We will meet face-to-face this coming December, and we plan to start the visa process early next year.

My first question is about the affidavit of support. I am currently a full-time college student and I use the G.I. Bill benefits, so I receive a little over 1,000 dollars a month. I also don't have a job right now, but I do plan on getting one after the new year. Will I have time before the interview to find a job and have a bit of income for an employer letter, or do I need one before filing for the visa? Am I able to include my income from the G.I. Bill on the affidavit? Also, I plan on asking my mother to be a joint sponsor, and she is retired from the US Navy, so she receives Veterans benefits. Will she be able to use her award letter as proof of income? And do I need to include a copy of her birth certificate to show U.S. Citizenship?

For evidence of our relationship, I have saved the receipts from the letters I've sent him, our plane tickets from our visit, and I will also print out our Facebook chat logs. What type of chats should I include in the packet, and how many pages is acceptable?

And my last question is I've read conflicting information about what type of tax documents I should have. Should I send my last 2 paycheck stubs or three years of tax returns?

Our AOS Journey:

09/02/2016- Sent AOS Paperwork to Chicago lockbox (I-485, I-765, I-131)

09/05/2016- Paperwork received by Chicago lockbox

09/08/2016- NOA1 Texts Received

09/10/2016- NOA1s received in the mail

09/24/2016- Received biometrics letter in the mail for October 3, 2016

09/30/2016- Biometrics completed (walk-in, Tukwila)