ChicagoTowGirl

Sworn affidavit for I-751

17 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

Sorry if this is a repeat question, but I cannot find another topic with it anywhere (I might be blind). I am applying to remove the conditions on my green card (I-751) and I am struggling a bit with the affidavit part. How do they have to be written? I have never written one before, nor has my friends/coworkers either. Also, is it absolutely necessary that it has to be notarized?
Any help would be much appreciated. This is the only thing holding me back on sending everything in at this point and it's stressing me out.

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Tunisia
Timeline

Search "affidavit sample" here on VJ. For a notary, some banks have them, but your best bet is the UPS store. Pretty cheap, easy, and official.

"A million years if I could live,
A thousand lives if I could give,
I would spend it all again with you,
Don't forget where you belong,
Only with me you are strong,
Not even the gods above can break,
Baby what we have"

Filed: Timeline

The affidavit should state what the affiant knows about you as a couple. For example, "I have known John and Mary Jones since May, 2013. We attend the same church, and I have seen them at Sunday worship frequently, and also occasionally at social gatherings sponsored by the church. John helped me repair my backyard deck last summer and Mary came with him and chatted with my wife while we were working on the deck."

Whether notarization matters is unclear. The I-751 instructions say that the affiant must be available to appear at an interview, if there is one.