WaitingEagerly

IR5 - mother, can stepdad and stepbrother come as well

10 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-5 Country: Russia
Timeline

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time using these boards - so I apologize if this question was asked before.

I'm a US citizen and I applied for my mother to come to the US and so far we are in the NVC processing phase. My question is about my mother's husband (my stepfather). I added his name to the paperwork as well as his son's (my stepbrother's) name.

Essentially - when my mother gets approved, can she bring my stepfather and stepbrother with her? Is there anything I can do for them as well?

Thank you for any insight.

Filed: Timeline

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time using these boards - so I apologize if this question was asked before.

I'm a US citizen and I applied for my mother to come to the US and so far we are in the NVC processing phase. My question is about my mother's husband (my stepfather). I added his name to the paperwork as well as his son's (my stepbrother's) name.

Essentially - when my mother gets approved, can she bring my stepfather and stepbrother with her? Is there anything I can do for them as well?

Thank you for any insight.

What age were you and your stepbrother when your mother and stepfather married? And what is your stepbrothers age at this time? Generally it would be faster for your mother to sponsor your stepbrother when she becomes an LPR.

Filed: FB-2 Visa Country: Bangladesh
Timeline

Your mother can't bring her them with her based on the petition you filed.

If your step father married your mother before you turned 18 then you can file a separate petition for him.

Also, once your mother receives her GC, she can file petitions for your step father and step brother.

F2B

(Helping aunt with cousin's petition)

01/02/2011: PD (Priority Date)
01/04/2011: I-130 NOA1

02/16/2011: I-130 NOA2

08/04/2016: Received DS-261/AOS Bill

08/06/2016: Completed DS-261/Paid AOS Bill