chooky

Working Mothers in America

12 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Israel
Timeline

My husband and I are hoping to be approved soon for his immigrant visa. I haven't lived in the USA for over 8 years now (I left in my 20s).. My husband is planning on getting an MBA in the USA to improve his career opportunities so in the meantime I will probably be the primary breadwinner (I worked in the USA for 2 years before leaving). I have a masters degree and work experience, but we also have a baby at home.

My questions for working mothers with degree based jobs - how difficult was it to find a high paying job that let you have flexible hours (not the typical 9-5 but maybe even 7-3?)... In addition, after asking friends in the USA I am still confused about maternity leave - is it 6 weeks paid, 6 weeks unpaid? Are employers flexible about taking additional time off without pay?. As in, is there even an option to take 6 months leave without pay - or will they simply fire you?

Thank you in advance!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

12 total weeks not required to be paid though....and that only applies to companies of 50+ employees. Federal employees get but six weeks paid leave.

Edited by Shauneg

There isn't any rules with regards to maternity leave. Some companies will offer few weeks paid others don't. Here is some info about short term disability and family leaves as well.

http://americanpregnancy.org/planning/maternity-leave/

It is not where I breathe but where I love that I live.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

Rather depends on what field you are in and how important you are to the organisation.

If I read your post properly you have a baby, so not sure where the question comes in about maternity if you are going to be the bread winner.

Is your plan for your husband to provide child care.