stephelliott

Affidavit of Support interview experiences?)

5 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Australia
Timeline

Hey guys

i would really love to hear some of your experiences during recent interviews in regard to the affidavit of support questioning. How many of you are being asked? How in depth are they looking?

I've seen people on other forums saying "oh they don't even ask anymore" but I am hoping to hear from someone whose been to the Sydney consulate recently...

I'm using a co-sponsor so I'm just a little nervous it won't be good enough and would love some VJ moral support specific to the Australian embassy..

I'm 25. I was a full time college student until 2011 so I didn't work and I have no W2's or tax returns in the U.S.. I moved overseas to live with my fiancé from 2013- June 2015 so I have no big bank statements here in the states. I have had a bank account set up here though since college. Im currently unemployed but I'm not on any government assistance and I should secure a job within the next week or so. Anyway my step father is going to be our co sponsor and he makes plenty more then the requested amount..

I'd just like to know how often it's being looked into deeply during Australian interviews..

Thanks!

Edited by stephelliott

- - - - - - - -

Met November 2012!
I moved to Australia March 2013!
Engaged April 20th, 2015!
Petition sent 5-13-2015!
NOA1 5-17-2015!
NOA2 6-26-2015!
Left NVC for Sydney, Australia 7-21-2015!

"Ready" in Sydney 8-3-2015!

Interview Date 10-27-2015!

* APPROVED at Interview *

- - - - - - - -

I had two co-sponsors when I had my interview in Sydney (Sept 2013). They certainly looked over them but seemed happy enough since they made well over the poverty threshold. It is nerve wrecking but you shouldn't have any issues provided your co-sponsors income is all legal, etc. Good luck!

Timeline