Neytiri

Grace Period, Denied Visa and K-1 visa

13 posts in this topic

Hello everyone.
I am Brazilian and lived in NY from 2008 to 2013 (had a J-1 visa and then a P-1 visa because im a professional athlete).
My P-1 visa expired on April 2013 but, since I was in the middle of the competitive season, my former attorney told me I had a 180 days Grace period and I could stay in USA, since I didnt pass that period, without any problems. I finished the season and came back to Brazil on September 2013.
Left my boyfriend, who is an American, in USA and, in March of 2014 I applied to a tourist visa, intending to go back to USA and marry him. The consul who interviewed me said he couldnt give me an answer about my visa right away and my case would be looked into for more considerations. ONE YEAR later, in March 2014, consulate tells me my visa was denied because I overstayed 10 days after my grace period was due. I told them I didnt, since my P-1 expired on April and, that being so, I could stay until October. They told me then that the Grace Period starts to be considered from the petition approval date, which was March 2013 and, if that is true, the grace period was due on September 2013, so they denied my visa and SUSPENDED me from applying to a new one for 3 years from the date I left USA (September 2013).
Now my boyfriend and I still want to get married and we plan on applying for a K-1 visa. We spoke to an attorney in NY and she said I cant do the K-1 because of the situation i just explained and that he should come to Brazil, marry me here then we apply for a waiver (5k dollars) and then a Green Card (3k dollars).
A second attorney we spoke to said we can apply for the K-1 and he charges 6.5K dollars for the whole process (i believe green card process included).

Does anyone have any input or advice?
Which attorney is right? Are those prices good or too high?