EricJin

I think I did something very stupid...

15 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Benin
Timeline

Hey is the scenario...

My whole family has moved to the U.S. back in 2002.

We have been here for a while under green cards.

All my whole family have moved on and became US citizen back in 2013. I haven't gotten around it yet.

I still have a green card. In the mean time I graduated from college and went on and worked since graduation under my Green Card. Now prior or about the time my brother became a U.S. citizen... He got in a relationship with this Chinese gal, they both at the time were in college, him with a GC and her with a student visa.

With her up coming graduation she and my brother decided to get married... So she can stay. That was back in 2013, during the whole process my brother talks me into signing a I864a for his to be wife. My income is a lot higher then his... Made sense right... I looked over it and was reassure by him and her that she wouldn't be a financial burden... So far so good. I sign the paper, later on my brother informs me that he didn't even have to use my i864a... I don't know what this actually mean I don't know it it was used or not and at this current point in time I would rather not ask.

Here are my concerns... I sense that there is something going one between the two of them, I suspect that she is having an affair but can't prove it... If this really goes south, and they get a divorce what am I on the hook for? Can I protect myself at this point? What are precautionary measures I can take?

She is under a GC

My brother is US Citizen

I am a GC Holder married to a U.S. Citizen and might became US citizen myself.

This is making me loose sleep... Help

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

Too late to do anything now.

You can read the form, states your obligations.