reilena

Previous Government Work

15 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

Hello everyone!

I'm planning as far out as I can so when I move to LA with my future husband, I somehow will have a roadmap of my new career. I have 6 years experience working for the Philippine Government in various capacities for Cabinet Secretaries (I also worked in Malacanang) writing technical notes, doing research, preparing speeches, handling schedule and appointments, and taking notes during meetings. My work is very country-specific (i.e. Philippines) so I was wondering how would that equate to US qualifications (although my skills are universal).

I would still like to work for the public sector or in the realm of politics or developmental/humanitarian aid but I read somewhere that opportunities like that would mostly be in DC.

Would anyone kindly recommend what sort of jobs do you think I could qualify for in CA? Do I have to take some sort of civil service exam to be eligible for a government position?

Thank you! :)

Filed: Country: Vietnam (no flag)
Timeline

Hi,

Hope you are successful at finding a job you like.

Just a few words of caution. Some government jobs are restricted to US citizens. An LPR reported that he applied for one of these restricted jobs and had problems naturalizing because he was accused of making a false claim of US citizenship for applying for a job restricted to US citizens.

Best of luck

Timeline

Hi,

Hope you are successful at finding a job you like.

Just a few words of caution. Some government jobs are restricted to US citizens. An LPR reported that he applied for one of these restricted jobs and had problems naturalizing because he was accused of making a false claim of US citizenship for applying for a job restricted to US citizens.

Best of luck

wow really?! Okay, I'll be sure to verify when I apply for one. Thanks for the heads up! :)

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: China
Timeline