rlt8990

I-864 taxes/co-sponsor

4 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Scotland
Timeline

Hey guys,

I would love some insight/advice if anyone has had a similar experience. I was not required to file taxes for 2014 as I was a student living in the UK, not working. I am now employed and meeting the income requirement - I will submit the required statement, 6 months worth of pay stubs, and a letter from my employer instead of my 2014 tax return when we file for AOS... It doesn't state anywhere (that I have seen) that I will need a co-sponsor, but i'm worried that without my tax return, and without a co-sponsor, we will get an RFE. Has anyone been in this situation, and if so what did you need to do?

Feb. 13th 2015: I-129F sent

Feb. 18th 2015: NOA1

Mar. 12th 2015: NOA2

Apr. 17th 2015: NVC received

Apr. 20th 2015: Case number assigned

Apr. 29th 2015: Consulate received

May 4th 2015: Packet 3 received

May 11th 2015: Medical - Passed!

May 29th 2015: Packet 4 received

June 18th 2015: Interview!! APPROVED!!

July 2nd 2015: Visa in hand

July 21st 2015: POE

???: Real wedding

Oct. 22nd 2015: Wedding ceremony with family/friends!

Hey guys,

I would love some insight/advice if anyone has had a similar experience. I was not required to file taxes for 2014 as I was a student living in the UK, not working. I am now employed and meeting the income requirement - I will submit the required statement, 6 months worth of pay stubs, and a letter from my employer instead of my 2014 tax return when we file for AOS... It doesn't state anywhere (that I have seen) that I will need a co-sponsor, but i'm worried that without my tax return, and without a co-sponsor, we will get an RFE. Has anyone been in this situation, and if so what did you need to do?

For a K1 I-134, London does not require a tax return. There is no such requirement written in the law. They will accept anything that shows your income. Just an employment letter will be enough. Easy peasy.