35 posts in this topic

Hey everyone

Newbie here, first post. I can't shake this feeling that I'm supposed to be doing something rather than just waiting for my visa interview date to come through.

Any advice or reassurance would be massively helpful.

I've been studying the K1 London guide on this site (very helpful, thank you) but I'm still not sure who schedules the interview and how I hear about it, ie post, email? And does my fiance get the same notification.

I completed my medical on 3 June, the results went to the US London Embassy on 11 June. Before then I submitted the DS-160, and on 21 May after following all the steps, I sent in the Notification of Applicant Readiness online form.

My finance sent me a new intent to marry letter as it looks like our priority date 27 Feb, will likely expire before the interview.

The DoS visa status check shows our status as 'ready' and was last updated on 17 June.

The NVC (we're with California) tell me our visa will now be dealt with by the Embassy. I've mailed them a couple of times using their website contact form, but it's been weeks and I've not heard back.

When I call the Embassy number for K1 interviews they tell me there's no record of our case, but I'm wondering if that's because it's not ready yet to schedule the interview.

According to the Embassy site, I should hear back around 6 weeks after submitting the Notification of Applicant Readiness, so by my reckoning that's around 3 July.

My fear is that I'm waiting in vain.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Current status: UK and USA citizen

12-Mar-19: I-751 (WAC18026) + N400 combi interview

Outcome

16 Mar-19: I-751 ~ Green Card in Hand (from submission to card delivery, 17 months)

19 Apr-19:  N400 ~ Naturalization Oath Ceremony, certificate in-hand! (from submission to oath, 6 months)

1 May 19: Voter registration card in-hand

3 May 19: USA passport in-hand