HtBlack

Leaving for the US in a few days

15 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Italy
Timeline

I got my CR1 visa at the end of February through DCF, but since my husband lost his job right after that, we had to wait until he was settled again to reunite. And he's finally working again, and we have an apartment, so I'll be travelling on May 22nd... and although I've been to the US before, for "longer" periods of time, it's worrying nonetheless.

I'm sure I'll like the country and handle the distance with my family/friends well enough. I guess I'm mostly worried about finding a decent job, and about the POE. Regarding the job, I have a high school diploma in chemistry (it was a pretty good school here in Italy but I know diplomas don't really matter a lot in the US) and I've worked for seven years as a waitress... I'm born in Argentina, so I speak both Spanish and Italian in addition to English, with a sprinkle of German if it's restaurant vocabulary. I'd be fine working as a waitress in the US, at the same time I'm afraid to not be adequate; where I worked here in Italy, although I loved the place because I felt "safe" there, it has been noted to me that I'm a slow worker (#######, I have a blind eye and another one that isn't perfect anymore, would it be weird if I was?) but since it's been the only place I've worked at because I had a good contract and all of that, I don't know if their opinion is true or not and if it were true, I hope it doesn't impact my ability to keep a job in the US when I find one.