micahdw

So lost on this process!

19 posts in this topic

So my fiance and I are expecting a baby at the begining of December and we both really want him here for the birth. We met a little over a year ago when I studied abroad in his country and then I went back earlier this year to visit. What documents other than photos with dates should I use to verify the relationship? Also, am I required to have enough money in the bank to support him until he gets a greencard and employment? And do any of you have suggestions that will make the process go as smooth as possible? And are there parts of the process that I haven't mentioned that I should know about? I know we are pushing it by trying to get him here in 7 months and that it's highly likely he won't be at the birth, but I want to do everything I can to prevent any delays and I want to send the information off by next week.

Edited by micahdw

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

Suggest taking a deep breath and reading the guides.

He can always visit for the birth.

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ecuador
Timeline

It's crucial for us to know his country. Some of the U.S. consulates grant visas readily, and others don't at all. You might need to "front-load" your petition package with additional evidence of your bona fide relationship -- a little, or a lot.

He might not be able to visit for the birth, again depending on his country.

06-04-2007 = TSC stamps postal return-receipt for I-129f.

06-11-2007 = NOA1 date (unknown to me).

07-20-2007 = Phoned Immigration Officer; got WAC#; where's NOA1?

09-25-2007 = Touch (first-ever).

09-28-2007 = NOA1, 23 days after their 45-day promise to send it (grrrr).