goobz

N-400 part 7 employement help

8 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hi - I am a freelance Illustrator who receives both W2 and 1099's, I work both on site at different advertising agencies and from home but I don't write off my study at home as expenses because I write off my mortgage interest instead. I just need some advise on how to complete this part of the n-400. Should I fill in various ad agencies I freelance for or should I put in my home address ?

Thanks in advance!

I'm on the same boat as you: 1099/W2 mixed income. I'm not incorporated or a PC, so I indicated the addresses of agencies. That worked fine for my N400.

100% Naturalized U.S.D.A. Prime American

proud_filipino_american_trucker_hat.jpg?

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Egypt
Timeline

Hi - I am a freelance Illustrator who receives both W2 and 1099's, I work both on site at different advertising agencies and from home but I don't write off my study at home as expenses because I write off my mortgage interest instead. I just need some advise on how to complete this part of the n-400. Should I fill in various ad agencies I freelance for or should I put in my home address ?

Thanks in advance!

If I've got this right, if you got a W2 then the IRS considers you an employee and if you received a 1099 then the IRS considers you an independent contractor. So I would just use that IRS definition for lack of a better one. Any time you received a W2, I would list that employer on the N400. Any time you received a 1099, I would probably list the employer and add "(contractor)" afterwords or I would list your home address and state you were an independent contractor. If you want to be more thorough, attach a piece of paper with all the places you've worked and whether you were an employee (W2) or a contractor (1099).